About the Award

Award tile with photo of Alice Evans.

The ASM Alice C. Evans Award for Advancement of Women recognizes outstanding contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in the microbial sciences. This award was established by ASM's Committee on the Status of Women in Microbiology, and is given in memory of Alice C. Evans, the first woman to be elected ASM President (1928).

2024 Alice C. Evans Awardee

Shannon D. Manning, Ph.D.

Shannon D. Manning, Ph.D.

Michigan State University

Past Awardees
2023: Lorraine Findlay
2022: Gemma Reguera
2021: Jennifer Glass
2020: Caitilyn Allen
2019: Hazel Barton
2018: Carolyn Teschke
2017: Diane Griffin
2016: Carol Gross
2015: Nancy Hopkins
2014: Bonnie L. Bassler
2013: Joan Steitz
2012: Micah I. Krichevsky
2011: Susan L. Forsburg
2010: Sara Rothman
2009: Millicent Goldschmidt
2008: Jo Handelsman
2007: Martha M. Howe
2006: Joan W. Bennett
2005: Helen Conrad Davies
2004: Marian C. Johnson-Thompson
2003: Eva Ruth Kashket
2002: Marlene Belfort
2001: Alice Shih-hou Huang
2000: Anne Morris Hooke
1999: Ruth T. Kirschstein
1998: Arnold L. Demain
1997: Ellen Jo Baron
1996: Jean E. Brenchley
1994: Barbara Iglewski
1993: Lorraine Freidman
1992: Ruth Gordon
1991: No Award Given
1990: Margaret Pittman
1989: Viola Mae Young-Horvath
1988: Rita R. Colwell
1986: Elizabeth O'Hern
1985: Loretta Leive
1983: Frederick C. Neidhardt


Nominees must be ASM members who have made major contributions toward fostering the inclusion, development and advancement of women in careers in microbiology. Nominees must demonstrate commitment to women in science through mentorship and advocacy and by setting an example through scientific and professional achievement.

Nominations Must Include:

  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account or log in to their current ASM account to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to provide a current CV or enter highlights from their CV on a CV template. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee's current CV.
  3. Nominee Statement. Nominees will be asked to provide a nominee statement describing their most significant contributions to the field of microbial sciences, explaining how their contributions meet the criteria for the award and why they are deserving of the award.

Awardee Benefits

The Award Laureate will receive the following honors:

  • One time waiver to publish an article without charge in 1 of ASM Journals.
  • A cash prize of $1,400.
  • Personalized commemorative keepsake.
  • Be invited to speak at the next ASM Microbe meeting.
  • Be recognized at the next ASM Microbe meeting and be invited as honored guests at the ASM and American Academy of Microbiology leadership receptions.

Frequently Asked Questions

For answers to the most frequently asked questions about ASM awards, see the Awards and Prize FAQs page.

Award Selection Process

All eligible nominations will be reviewed by the respective award selection committee. The committee members will use the nomination materials to evaluate each nominee using the described eligibility criteria. The committee will discuss outstanding candidates and determine the awardee for that year. The committee takes into consideration various factors about the nominees in the decision to ensure the selected awardee is a strong example of excellence in the field.

Selection Committee Members

  • Amy J. Reese, Ph.D. (Chair).
  • Melanie R. Mormile, Ph.D. (Past Chair)
  • N. Confidence Anyanwu, Ph.D.
  • Katherine M. Caflisch
  • Lindsey Clark, M.P.H.
  • Michaela Gazdik Stofer, Ph.D.
  • Jennifer Goff, Ph.D.
  • Zoe Hansen, Ph.D.
  • Rachel Roper, Ph.D.
  • Akorede Seriki, M.S.
  • Carolyn Teschke, Ph.D.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and might not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.