About the Award

ASM Award for Basic Research

The ASM Award for Basic Research recognizes an outstanding scientist whose discoveries have been fundamental to advancing our understanding of the microbial world.

2024 ASM Basic Research Awardee

Christine Jacobs-Wagner, Ph.D.

Christine Jacobs-Wagner, Ph.D.

Stanford University and Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Past Awardees


Nominees must demonstrate outstanding accomplishment in basic microbiological research and be actively engaged in research at the time that the nomination is made. Nominations can be based on a single exceptionally significant achievement or the aggregate of several exemplary achievements, as documented by original publications in peer-reviewed journals. This award will be made to an established investigator with a sustained and exceptional record of accomplishment.

Nominators must address how the nominees meet the criteria and how they have made significant contributions to the field.

Nominations Must Include:

  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account or log in to their current ASM account to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to provide a current CV or enter highlights from their CV on a CV template. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee’s current CV.
  3. Nominee Statement. Nominees will be asked to provide a nominee statement describing their most significant contributions to the field of microbial sciences, explaining how their contributions meet the criteria for the award and why they are deserving of the award.

Awardee Benefits

The Award Laureate will receive the following honors:

  • One time waiver to publish an article without charge in 1 of ASM Journals.
  • A cash prize of $1,400.
  • Personalized commemorative keepsake.
  • Be invited to speak at the next ASM Microbe meeting.
  • Be recognized at the next ASM Microbe meeting and be invited as honored guests at the ASM and American Academy of Microbiology leadership receptions.

Frequently Asked Questions

For answers to the most frequently asked questions about ASM awards, see the Awards and Prize FAQs page.

Award Selection Process

All eligible nominations will be reviewed by the respective award selection committee. The committee members will use the nomination materials to evaluate each nominee using the described eligibility criteria. The committee will discuss outstanding candidates and determine the awardee for that year. The committee takes into consideration various factors about the nominees in the decision to ensure the selected awardee is a strong example of excellence in the field.

Selection Committee Members

  • Paul Babitzke, Ph.D. (Chair).
  • Ekaterina Heldwein, Ph.D.
  • Arash Komeili, Ph.D.
  • Sue D Lin-Chao, Ph.D.
  • Sunny Shin, Ph.D.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and might not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.