ASM Award for Research and Leadership in Clinical Microbiology

Recognizes an outstanding scientist/clinical microbiologist with distinguished research achievements, and a record of innovation and advancement of the clinical microbiology profession. This award represents the merging of the BD Research and Sonnenwirth Awards given annually since 1978 and 1986, respectively.


The nominee must demonstrate outstanding accomplishment in research and leadership in the clinical microbiology profession. The nominee should be actively engaged in research and clinical laboratory service at the time that the nomination is made. The nomination is based on an aggregate of exemplary achievements. While scientists at any career stage are eligible, this award is best suited for established clinical microbiologists.


Nominations must have both items:
  1. Nomination Form (coming soon). Nominator will need to create a free ASM account, or log in to his or her current ASM account to complete the nomination. 
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV), including a list of publications. Nominators will be directed to attach the nominee's CV to the online nomination form during the nomination process. 
Please note:
  • Nominations will be considered without updating for 3 years.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted. 
  • More than 1 nomination per nominee will not be accepted.
  • Only 1 nominator and 2 references are accepted per nomination.
  • Of the 3 participants in a nomination (nominator and 2 references), only 1 can be from the same employment unit (e.g., department, institute, center, company) as the nominee.
  • Please note: the references are not required to submit statements; they will only be contacted if the committee requires more information regarding the nomination.
  • Deadline for nominations is June 28, 2021.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact