About the Award

Profile picture of D.C. White.

The ASM D.C. White Award for Interdisciplinary Research recognizes distinguished accomplishments in interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology. This award honors David C. White, who was known for his interdisciplinary scientific approach and for being a dedicated and inspiring mentor.

2024 ASM D.C. White Awardee

Gemma Reguera, Ph.D.

Gemma Reguera, Ph.D.

Michigan State University

Past Awardees
2023: James Collins
2022: Victor Nizet
2021: Ferran Garcia-Pichel
2020: Richard Lenski
2019: James Kaper
2018: Donald Bryant
2017: Stephen Goff
2016: Terence Dermody
2015: Thomas Walsh
2014: Edward Leadbetter
2013: Farooq Azam
2012: E. Peter Greenberg
2011: Jo Handelsman
2010: Kenneth Nealson
2009: Edward DeLong
2008: Mary Ann Moran


Consideration will be given to the breadth of the nominee's contributions, as well as the originality and overall impact of the contributions. There are no age restrictions, but the nominee must have a distinguished record of accomplishments in interdisciplinary microbiological research and mentoring of graduate students, postdoctoral scientists and/or junior faculty. Nominees in all areas of microbiology will be considered.

Nominators must address how the nominees meet the criteria and how they have made significant contributions to advance interdisciplinary research and mentoring in microbiology.

Nominations Must Include:

  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account or log in to their current ASM account to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to provide a current CV or enter highlights from their CV on a CV template. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee’s current CV.
  3. Nominee Statement. Nominees will be asked to provide a nominee statement describing their most significant contributions to the field of microbial sciences, explaining how their contributions meet the criteria for the award and why they are deserving of the award.

Awardee Benefits

The Award Laureate will receive the following honors:

  • One time waiver to publish an article without charge in 1 of ASM Journals.
  • A cash prize of $1,400.
  • Personalized commemorative keepsake.
  • Be invited to speak at the next ASM Microbe meeting.
  • Be recognized at the next ASM Microbe meeting and be invited as honored guests at the ASM and American Academy of Microbiology leadership receptions.

Frequently Asked Questions

For answers to the most frequently asked questions about ASM awards, see the Awards and Prize FAQs page.

Award Selection Process

All eligible nominations will be reviewed by the respective award selection committee. The committee members will use the nomination materials to evaluate each nominee using the described eligibility criteria. The committee will discuss outstanding candidates and determine the awardee for that year. The committee takes into consideration various factors about the nominees in the decision to ensure the selected awardee is a strong example of excellence in the field.

Selection Committee Members

  • Robert P. Hausinger, Ph.D. (Chair).
  • Jorge C. Escalante-Semerena, Ph.D.
  • Erin Lipp, Ph.D.
  • Brian Palenik, Ph.D.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and might not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.