About the Award

The ASM Scherago-Rubin Award for Clinical Microbiology recognizes an outstanding bench-level clinical microbiologist involved in routine diagnostic work that has distinguished themself by excellent performance. The award was established by the late Sally Jo Rubin, an active member of ASM's Clinical Microbiology Division, in honor of her grandfather, Professor Morris Scherago.

James Pusavat

James Pusavat

Adventist Health Bakersfield

2023 ASM Scherago-Rubin Awardee

Past Awardees
All past ASM awardees.


Nominees must be non-doctoral-level clinical microbiologists involved primarily in routine diagnostic work, rather than in research, who have distinguished themselves with excellent performance in the clinical laboratory.
Nominators must address how the nominees meet the criteria and how they have gone “above and beyond” in their clinical laboratory performance.


​​Nominations must include:
  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account, or log in to his/her current ASM account, to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to enter highlights from his/her CV on a CV template or provide a current CV. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee’s current CV.
Please note the following:
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominations will be considered without updating for 3 years.
  • More than 1 nomination per nominee will not be accepted.
  • Only 1 nominator and 2 supporters are accepted per nomination.
  • Of the 3 participants in a nomination (nominator and 2 supporters), only 1 can be from the same employment unit (e.g., department, institute, center, company) as the nominee.
  • Supporters should not submit a letter of support at the time the nomination is made. They will be contacted during the selection process only if the selection committee requires additional information about the nominee.
ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.