About the Award

The ASM William A. Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists recognizes outstanding contributions toward fostering the research training of minorities and increasing diversity in microbiology. It is given in memory of William A. Hinton, a physician-research scientist, and one of the first African Americans to join ASM. He developed the Hinton test for syphilis, which became the standard procedure due to its ease of use, cost-effectiveness and accuracy compared to earlier tests.

2023 ASM William A. Hinton Awardees

Kishana Taylor, Ph.D.

Kishana Taylor, Ph.D.

Carnegie Mellon University

Ariangela Kozik, Ph.D.

Ariangela Kozik, Ph.D.

University of Michigan


Nominees must contribute to the research training of undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows or health professional students, and must contribute to efforts leading to the increased participation of microbiologists from historically underrepresented communities.
Nominators must address how the nominees meet the criteria and how they have gone “above and beyond” to advance the involvement of microbiologists from historically underrepresented communities in research. 


Nominations must include:
  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account, or log in to his/her current ASM account, to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to enter highlights from his/her CV on a CV template or provide a current CV. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee’s current CV.
Please note the following:
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominations will be considered without updating for 3 years.
  • More than 1 nomination per nominee will not be accepted.
  • Only 1 nominator and 2 supporters are accepted per nomination.
  • Of the 3 participants in a nomination (nominator and 2 supporters), only 1 can be from the same employment unit (e.g., department, institute, center, company) as the nominee.
  • Supporters should not submit a letter of support at the time the nomination is made. They will be contacted during the selection process only if the selection committee requires additional information about the nominee.
ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.