Each year, the American Academy of Microbiology, the honorific leadership group and scientific think-tank within ASM, selects exceptional microbiologists to present lecturers at the ASM Microbe meeting. 

2024 ASM Elizabeth O. King Lecture Awardee

Fang Li, Ph.D.

About the Award
The ASM Elizabeth O. King Lecturer Award recognizes a researcher who has made significant contributions to the field of public health and the discovery of new pathogens. Given in honor of Elizabeth O. King, who pioneered methods to identify and classify medically important pathogens during her time at CDC, this lecture award aims to promote the translation of science into solutions to improve public health and inspire further research in this area. This lecture award is supported by the New York Community Trust-Audrey Rheinstrom and Anne Blevins Fund.

Past recipients of the ASM Elizabeth O. King Lecturer Award.

2024 ASM Honorary Diversity Lecturer Awardee

Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D.

About the Award
The ASM Honorary Diversity Lecturer Award recognizes a microbiologist from a historically underrepresented group who is both an accomplished researcher and has a proven record of delivering engaging and outstanding lectures. This lecture award aims to highlight the power of diversity in the scientific community and demonstrate excellence could come from all walks of life. The award is intended to inspire the next generation of microbiologists from diverse backgrounds to pursue excellence.

Past recipients of the ASM Honorary Diversity Lecturer Award.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and may not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.