Start an ASM Student and Postdoctoral Chapter

June 18, 2018

ASM student and postdoctoral chapters are for students and postdocs interested in microbiology at their local university. Chapters host several events throughout the year, such as career panels, visits to microbiology companies, judging science fairs, etc. to promote ASM's mission of advancing the microbial sciences.
  • Hold weekly or monthly meetings for students and faculty.
  • Collaborate with local ASM Branches or Ambassadors to develop meeting programs, organize local ASM events or create presentation opportunities for their members.
  • Invite local experts from the Careers in Microbial Sciences Speaker Program to speak with their chapter.
  • Organize professional development workshops on scientific writing or presenting and communicating your science.
  • Host informational seminars using materials from ASM Careers to discuss next career steps, creating a CV and the job search process. 
  • Tour microbiology-related companies, such as local laboratories, hospitals, breweries, sewage treatment plans, wineries, etc.
  • Support primary and secondary science education by hosting (or judging) a science and technology fair. 

Your Benefits to Starting a Chapter: 

  • Expand your network by collaborating with students, faculty, industry, clinical laboratories and nonprofit organizations.
  • Develop leadership instincts.
  • Improve presentation skills.
  • Give back to your local community and support science through K-12 engagement.
  • Gain mentors outside of academic institutions.
  • Have an opportunity to write a proposal seeking financial support from ASM.
  • Recognition as an official part of ASM and a network of sister chapters throughout the world.

How to Start a Chapter: 

  • Draft a constitution for your group. 
  • Seek initial sponsorship from your university. Universities have various requirements for forming on campus groups. Consult your student affairs department to make sure you are in compliance with your institution. 
  • Select a faculty advisor who is a current member of ASM. 
  • Draft an action plan of activities your chapter would like to accomplish in the current calendar year. 
  • Ask your local branch or ambassador for sponsorship. Contact the ASM Branch in your area or local ambassador to request sponsorship to become an ASM-recognized student and postdoctoral chapter. Enclose a copy of your constitution and action plan for review. 
  • Submit an application to StudentChapters@asmusa.org with:
    • Your drafted constitution.
    • Letter or email of approval from your faculty advisor (who is an ASM member).
    • Letter or email of support from your local ASM Branch or ASM Ambassador.
    • List of names and contact information of executive board members. 
  • ASM will review your application and contact you when your chapter is provisionally approved. Your chapter will be officially approved by the ASM Board of Directors at the next ASM Microbe meeting. 
Questions? Please contact StudentChapters@asmusa.org.
 

Where We Work

ASM student and postdoctoral chapters are for students and postdocs interested in microbiology at their local university. Find one near you or start a chapter at your university.

International ASM Student and Postdoctoral Chapters

Armenia

Yerevan State University
Yerevan, Armenia
Faculty Advisor: Anna Poladyan
apoladyan@ysu.am; armicroasm@gmail.com
 

Bangladesh

University of Chittagong
Chittagong, Bangladesh
Faculty Advisor: Md. Zobaidul Alam
mzamicro@yahoo.com; asmcu2020@gmail.com

University of Dhaka
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Faculty Advisor: Sangita Ahmed
sangita@du.ac.bd

University of Rajshahi
Rajshahi, Bangladesh
Faculty Advisor: Imtiaj Hasan and Fazlul Haque
hasanimtiaj@yahoo.co.uk; drfazlul@ru.ac.bd; asmru.office@gmail.com
 

Brazil

Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Faculty Advisor: Tatiana Pinto
tati.micro@gmail.com; lauramaria.andrade@yahoo.com.br; ufrjstudentchapter@gmail.com

University of São Paulo
São Paulo, Brazil
Faculty Advisor: Maria Carolina Quecine and Maria Leticia Bonatelli
mquecine@usp.br; mlbonatelli@gmail.com
 

Cameroon

University of Yaounde 1
Yaounde, Cameroon
Faculty Advisor: Sado Sylvian
sadosylvain@hotmail.com
 

Canada

University of British Colombia
Vancouver, Canada
Faculty Advisor: Agatha Jassem
Agatha.Jassem@bccdc.ca; ubcomix@gmail.com
 

Colombia 

Universidad del Quindio
Quindío, Colombia
Faculty Advisor: Jorge E. Gomez-Marin
jegomez@uniquindio.edu.co;
 

Egypt

Mansoura University
Mansoura, Egypt
Faculty Advisor: Alaa Aboelnour Elmoursi
aalaa_abo@yahoo.com 

Alexandria University
Alexandria, Egypt
Faculty Advisor: Hanan Ghozlan
hanan.ghozlan@gmail.com; asm.ausce15@gmail.com
 

El Salvador

Universidad Dr. Jose Matias Delgado
San Salvador, El Salvador
Faculty Advisor: Leonor Murillo de Linares
limurillol@ujmd.edu.sv;  microes.studentchapter@gmail.com
 

Ghana

University of Energy and Natural Resources
Sunyani, Ghana
Faculty Advisor: Kenneth Bentum Otabil
Kenneth.otabil@uenr.edu.gh
 

India

Madurai Kamaraj University
Madurai, India
Faculty Advisor: P. Varalakshmi
pvlakshmi.biotech@mkuniversity.org; mku.asm@gmail.com
 

Jamaica

University of the West Indies
Mona, Jamaica
Faculty Advisor: Paul Brown and Stacy Stephenson-Clarke
paul.brown@uwimona.edu.jm; stacy.stephenson02@uwimona.edu.jm
uwi.asm@gmail.com
 

Malaysia

National University of Malaysia
Bangi, Selangor, Malaysia
Faculty Advisor: Kalaivani Nadarajah
vani@ukm.edu.my; asminmalaysia@gmail.com
 

Nepal

Pokhara University
Pokhara, Nepal
Faculty Advisor: Suresh Jaiswal
suuress@gmail.com
 

Nigeria

Kwara State University (KWASU)
Nigerian Association of Microbiology Students (NAMS), Kwara State University (KWASU)
Kwara, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Sunday Awe
Sunday.awe@kwasu.edu; kwasuasm@gmail.com
 

Pakistan

COMSATS University
ASM Himalaya Student Chapter
Abbottabad, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Rashid Nazir
rashidnazir@ciit.net.pk

Dow University of Health Sciences
Karachi, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Muhammad Asif Qureshi
a.qureshi@duhs.edu.pk; asm-duhs@gmail.com

Institute of Microbiology University of Agriculture
Faisalabad, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Mashkoor Mohsin Gilani
mashkoormohsin@uaf.edu.pk

Jinnah University for Women
Karachi, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Kashmala Zainab and Taqdees Malik
Kashmala.juw@gmail.com; taqdees_13@hotmail.com

Shifa Tameer-e-Millat University
Islamabad, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Mustafeez Mujtaba Babar
mustafeez.scps@stmu.edu.pk

University of the Punjab
Lahore, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Imran Sajid
imran.mmg@pu.edu.pk; punjabuniversity.asmbranch@gmail.com

University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences
Lahore, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shahzad Ali
shahzad.ali@uvas.edu.pk
 

Paraguay

Universidad Nacional de Asunción
Asunción, Paraguay
Faculty Advisor: Juana Ortellado Canese and Rosa María Guillén Fretes
juaniorte@yahoo.com.mx; rmguillenf@gmail.com
 

Peru

Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia
Faculty Advisor: Pablo Tsukayama
pablo.tsukayama@upch.pe; asm.upch@gmail.com
 

Philippines

University of Santo Tomas
UST Microbiology Society
Santo Tomas, Philippines
Faculty Advisor: Reuel M. Bennett and Kim Hazel V. Arafiles
rmbennett@ust.edu.ph; kvarafiles@ust.edu.ph; ust.microsoc@gmail.com
 

St. Lucia

Spartan Health Sciences University
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Faculty Advisor: Sambasivarao Yaragalla
siva2lifescience@gmail.com
 

Sudan

Omdurman Islamic University
Omdurman, Sudan
Faculty Advisor: Abdulazeem Abdulsalam Ibrahim
ebade72@hotmail.com; Oiubranchasm@gmail.com
 

United Arab Emirates

Manipal Academy of Higher Education Dubai Campus
Dubai, UAE
Faculty Advisor: Faheem Syed Mohammed and Madhumitha Kedhari
faheemsm@manipaldubai.com; madhumitha.kedharisundaram@manipaldubai.com
U.S. ASM Student and Postdoctoral Chapters

Alabama 

Alabama State University
Faculty Advisor: Qiana Matthews
qmatthrews@alasu.edu
 
Auburn University
Faculty Advisor: Mark Liles
lilesma@auburn.edu
 
University of Alabama, Birmingham
Faculty Advisor: Jessica Scoffield
jscoff@uab.edu
 
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
Faculty Advisor: Asma Hatoum-Aslan
ahatoum@ua.edu; alabamaASM@gmail.com
 

Alaska 

University of Alaska
Faculty Advisor: Brandon Briggs
bbriggs6@alaska.edu
 

Arizona

Grand Canyon University
Faculty Advisor: Galyna Kufryk
galyna.kufryk@gcu.edu
 

California

California Institute of Technology
Faculty Advisor: Jared Leadbetter
jleadbetter@caltech.edu

California State University, Chico
Faculty Advisor: Troy Cline
tdcline@csuchico.edu
 
California State University, Channel Islands
Faculty Advisor: Hugo Tapia
hugo.tapia@csuci.edu
 
California State University, Long Beach
Faculty Advisor: Jesse Dillon
Jesse.Dillon@csulb.edu; asm.csulongbeach@gmail.com
 
California State University, Los Angeles
Faculty Advisor: Edith Porter
eporter@calstatela.edu; csula.asm@gmail.com
 
California State University, Northridge
Faculty Advisor: Gilberto Flores and Rachel Mackelprang
gilberto.flores@csun.edu; rachel.mackelprang@csun.edu; csun.msa@my.csun.edu
 
California State University, Sacramento
The Student Association of Laboratory Scientists
Faculty Advisor: Susanne Lindgren
Lindgren@csus.edu; Csus.sals@gmail.com
 
Sierra College
Faculty Advisor: Harriet Wilson
microbes@mac.com
 
University of California, Berkeley
Microbial Biology Graduate Student Group
Faculty Advisor: Steven Lindow
icelab@berkeley.edu
 
University of California, Davis
Faculty Advisor: Miriam Martin
memartin@ucdavis.edu; asmatucdavis@gmail.com
 
University of California, Riverside
Faculty Advisor: Patrick Degnan
patrickd@ucr.edu; ucr.asm@gmail.com
 

Connecticut

Quinnipiac University
Faculty Advisor: Lisa Cuchara
lisa.cuchara@quinnipiac.edu; asm@quinnipiac.edu
 
University of Connecticut, Storrs
Faculty Advisor: Kathleen Feldman and Patricia Rossi
kathleen.feldman@uconn.edu; Patricia.Rossi@uconn.edu
 
University of Connecticut, Uconn Health
Faculty Advisor: David Banach
dbanach@uchc.edu
 

Florida 

Ponte Vedra High School
Faculty Advisor: Kathryn Kehoe
kathryn.kehoe@stjohns.k12.fl.us
 
University of Central Florida
Faculty Advisor: Jessica Wilson
Jessica.Wilson2@ucf.edu; ucfknights.asm@gmail.com
 
University of Florida
ASM Gators
Faculty Advisor: Monika Oli
moli@ufl.edu; asmgators@gmail.com
 

Georgia 

University of Georgia, Athens
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Walker and Timothy Hoover
Jrswalk@uga.edu; trhoover@uga.edu;
 

Idaho

Idaho State University
Faculty Advisor: Jack Shurley
shurjack@isu.edu; microbio@isu.edu
 

Illinois

Chicago State University
Faculty Advisor: Nadeem Fazal
nfazal@csu.edu; asm@csu.edu
 
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Faculty Advisor: Brenda Wilson
wilson7@illinois.edu
 

Indiana 

Ball State University
Faculty Advisor: John McKillip
jlmckillip@bsu.edu
 
Purdue University, Fort Wayne
Faculty Advisor: Tanya Soule
soulet@pfw.edu; asm@pfw.edu
 

Iowa

Iowa State University
Microbiology Graduate Student Organization, Iowa State
Faculty Advisor: Nancy Boury and Nicholas Peters
nan1@iastate.edu; ntpeters@iastate.edu
 
University of Iowa
Faculty Advisor: Mary Weber
mary-weber@uiowa.edu
 

Kansas

University of Kansas
ASM Jayhawk
Faculty Advisor: Lynn E. Hancock and P. Scott Hefty
lynnh@ku.edu; pshefty@ku.edu
 

Kentucky

University of Kentucky
Faculty Advisor: Erin Garcia
erin.garcia@uky.edu
 

Louisiana

Northwestern State University
Faculty Advisor: Christopher N. Lyles and Trenton Kaine O'Neal
lylesc@nsula.edu; onealt@nsula.edu
 

Maine

University of Maine
Maine Society of Microbiology
Faculty Advisor: Robert Wheeler
robert.wheeler1@maine.edu
 

Maryland

Uniformed Services University
Faculty Advisor: D. Scott Merrell
douglas.merrell@usuhs.edu
 
University of Maryland at College Park
Faculty Advisor: Vincent T. Lee
vtlee@umd.edu; umdmicrobio@gmail.com
 

Massachusetts

University of Massachusetts - Amherst
Faculty Advisor: Kristen Deangelis
deangelis@microbio.umass.edu
 

Michigan

Grand Valley State University
Faculty Advisor: Aaron Baxter
baxteraa@gvsu.edu
 
Michigan State University
Faculty Advisor: Jeannine Scott
scottj21@msu.edu; micclub@msu.edu
 

Minnesota 

St. Cloud State University
Faculty Advisor: Ryan Fink and Louise Mills
Rcfink@stcloudstate.edu; lmillis@stcloudstate.edu
 
University of Minnesota
Faculty Advisor: Christian Mohr
mohrx005@umn.edu
 

Mississippi

Mississippi State University
Faculty Advisor: Justin Thornton
thornton@biology.msstate.edu; msuasm@yahoo.com
 
Saint Louis University
Faculty Advisor: John Tavis
john.tavis@health.slu.edu
 

Missouri 

University of Missouri- Columbia
Faculty Advisor: Pamela Brown and Michael Calcutt
brownpb@missouri.edu; calcuttm@missouri.edu; mizzouasm@gmail.com
 

Nevada

University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Faculty Advisor: Eduardo Robleto
eduardo.robleto@unlv.edu; unlv.asm@gmail.com
 
University of Nevada, Reno
Faculty Advisor: Deanna Colton
dcolton@med.unr.edu; unvreno.asm@gmail.com; unr.asm19@gmail.com
 

New Jersey

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Faculty Advisor: Max Haggblom
haggblom@rutgers.edu
 

New York 

Binghamton University
Faculty Advisor: Caitlin Light
clight@binghamton.edu; microbiology@binghamtonsa.org
 
Dominican College of Blauvelt
Faculty Advisor: Bernadette Connors and Regina Alvarez
bernadette.connors@dc.edu; regina.alvarez@dc.edu
 
Hobart & William Smith Colleges
Faculty Advisor: Patricia Mowery
mowery@hws.edu; hobartandwilliamasm@gmail.com
 
University at Albany, School of Public Health
Eastern New York ASM Student Chapter
Faculty Advisor: Kathleen McDonough and William Wolfgang
kathleen.mcdonough@health.ny.gov; william.wolfgang@health.ny.gov; Enyscasm@gmail.com
 

North Carolina

North Carolina State University
Faculty Advisor: Mike Taveirne and Alice Lee
michael_taveirne@ncsu.edu; amlee3@ncsu.edu; microbiologyclub@ncsu.edu
 

North Dakota 

North Dakota State University
Faculty Advisor: Peter Bergholz and Danielle Condry
peter.bergholz@ndsu.edu; danielle.condry@ndsu.edu

Ohio 

Bowling Green University
Faculty Advisor: Hans Wildschutte
hansw@bgsu.edu
 
Lorain County Community College
Faculty Advisor: Harry Kestler and Kathy Durham
hkestler@lorainccc.edu; kdurham@lorainccc.edu
 
Miami University
Faculty Advisor: Alan F. Strautman
strautaf@miamioh.edu
 
Ohio Wesleyan
Faculty Advisor: Laura Tuhela-Reuning
lmtuhela@owu.edu
 
Otterbein University
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Bennett
jbennett@otterbein.edu
 

Oklahoma

Oklahoma State University
Faculty Advisor: Matthew Cabeen and Karen Wozniak
matthew.cabeen@okstate.edu; karen.woozniak@okstate.edu
 

Oregon 

Oregon State University
Faculty Advisor: Linda Bruslind
bruslindl@oregonstate.edu; oregonstatemsa@gmail.com
 

Pennsylvania 

Drexel University College of Medicine
Eastern Pennsylvania Branch Student Chapter
Faculty Advisor: Sunny Shin
sunshin@pennmedicine.upenn.edu; epaasm.students@gmail.com
 
Duquesne University
Faculty Advisor: Wook Kim
kimw1@duq.edu
 
Juniata College
Faculty Advisor: Regina Lamendella
lamendella@juniata.edu
 
Pennsylvania State University
Faculty Advisor: Paul Babitzke
pxb28@psu.edu
 
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
Faculty Advisor: Jason Heindl
j.heindl@usciences.edu
 
West Chester University
Faculty Advisor: John M. Pisciotta
jpisciotta@wcupa.edu; Wcumicrosocial@gmail.com
 

Puerto Rico

Universidad Ana G. Mendez
UNE PR - Mic-Chapter
Faculty Advisor: Sandra Barroso Lorenzo
barrosos1@uagm.edu; unemicchap2014@gmail.com
 
Universidad Ana G. Méndez-Gurabo (formerly Universidad del Turabo, Gurabo)
PRIMER (Puerto Rico Institute for Microbial Ecology Research)
Faculty Advisor: Jose R. Perez-Jimenez
jperezjm@uagm.edu
 
University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo
Student Chapter of Microbiology of Arecibo (CEMA)
Faculty Advisor: Jose Arbelo-Garcia
jose.arbelo@upr.edu; cema.arecibo@upr.edu
 
University of Puerto Rico, Cayey
Profesionales del Laboratorio Clínico (TMED)
Faculty Advisor: Maribel Irizarry-Badea and José Efrain López-Berrios
maribel.irizarry@upr.edu; jose.berrios8@upr.edu
 
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Capitulo de Estudiantes de Microbiologia (CEM)
Faculty Advisor: Sanda Rodríguez
sandra.rodriguez4@upr.edu; cemicro.uprh@upr.edu
 
University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
Industrial Microbiology Students Society (SEMI)
Faculty Advisor: Luis Rios Hernandez and Maria M. Vargas-Rodríguez
luis.rios5@upr.edu; mariam.vargas@upr.edu; semi.upr@gmail.com
 
University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus at San Juan
Faculty Advisor: Edna Aquino -Pinero
edna.aquino@upr.edu; microbiologia.rcm@gmail.com
 
University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Faculty Advisor: Miguel Urdaneta
Miguel.urdaneta1@upr.edu; micro.uprrp@gmail.com
 

South Carolina 

Clemson University
Faculty Advisor: Harry D. Kurtz
hkurtz@clemson.edu
 
University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville
Faculty Advisor: Steven Fiester
fiester@greenvillemed.sc.edu
 
University of South Carolina Upstate and Furman University
Upstate of SC Chapter of ASM
Faculty Advisor: Ginny Webb and Min-Ken Liao
Will4283@uscupstate.edu; Min-Ken.Liao@furman.edu
 

South Dakota 

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
ASM-SD Bioindustry Accelerator and Innovation Hub
Faculty Advisor: Rajesh Sani and Kelsey Gilcrease
Rajesh.Sani@sdsmt.edu; Kelsey.Gilcrease@sdsmt.edu
 
South Dakota State University
Faculty Advisor: Jessica Mediger
Jessica.Mediger@sdstate.edu
 

Tennessee

Vanderbilt University
Faculty Advisor: Ann Tate
a.tate@vanderbilt.edu
 
East Tennessee State University
Faculty Advisor: Sean Fox and Dara Young
foxsj@mail.etsu.edu; youngdc@etsu.edu
 
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Faculty Advisor: Gary LeCleir
glecleir@utk.edu
 

Texas

Baylor College of Medicine, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Faculty Advisor: Heidi Kaplan
heidi.b.kaplan@uth.tmc.edu; asmattmc@gmail.com
 
St. Edward’s University
Faculty Advisor: Patricia Baynham and Claire Edwards
patricib@stedwards.edu; medward9@stedwards.edu
 
Texas Tech University
Faculty Advisor: Catherine Wakeman
catherine.wakeman@ttu.edu
 
Texas Woman's University
Faculty Advisor: Laura Hanson
lhanson@twu.edu; asm.twu@gmail.com
 
University of Dallas
Faculty Advisor: William Cody
wcody@udallas.edu
 
University of North Texas
UNT Society for Microbiology
Faculty Advisor: Lee Hughes
lee.hughes@unt.edu
 
University of Texas at Austin
Faculty Advisor: Suzanne Barth and Eric Cambronne
ssbarth@austin.utexas.edu; eric.cambronne@austin.utexas.edu
 
University of Texas at El Paso
Faculty Advisor: Rosa Maldonado
ramaldonado@utep.edu; utepasm@gmail.com
 
University of Texas at San Antonio
Faculty Advisor: Janakiram Seshu and Soo Chan Lee
j.seshu@utsa.edu; Soochan.Lee@utsa.edu; Asmatutsa@gmail.com

Utah

Brigham Young University
Faculty Advisor: Robert Black
robert_black@byu.edu
 
Utah Valley University
Faculty Advisor: Michaela Gazdik Stofer
gazdikmi@uvu.edu
 
Weber State University
Faculty Advisor: Katrina Twing
katrinatwing@weber.edu
 

Virginia 

Shenandoah Valley Chapter (BRCC/EMU/JMU)
Faculty Advisor: Kristopher Schmidt
Kristopher.schmidt@emu.edu
 
Virginia Commonwealth University
Faculty Advisor: Daniel Miller
daniel.miller@vcuhealth.org

Virginia Tech
Faculty Advisor: Ann Stevens
ams@vt.edu
 

Washington 

University of Washington
Microphiles
Faculty Advisor: Mark Chandler
msc@uw.edu; microph@uw.edu
 

West Virginia

West Virginia University
Faculty Advisor: Meenal Elliott
melliott@hsc.wvu.edu; Wvuasm@gmail.com
 

Wisconsin

University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
Faculty Advisor: Bonnie Jo Bratina and Marisa Barbknecht
bbratina@uwlax.edu; mbarbknecht@uwlax.edu
 
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Faculty Advisor: Garret Suen
gsuen@wisc.edu
 
University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Faculty Advisor: Ryan Newton and Sandra McLellan
newtonr@uwm.edu; mclellan@uwm.edu