Steering Committee

The Steering Committee includes the following principals and the track leaders noted in the Program Committee Members list below.

Karla J.F. Satchell, Ph.D.

Meetings Board Co-Chair

Northwestern University
Chicago, Ill

Robert Tibbetts, Ph.D.

Meetings Board Co-Chair

Henry Ford Health System
Detroit, Mich.

Yvette S. McCarter, Ph.D., D(ABMM)

Meeting Strategy Chair

University of Florida College of Medicine-Jacksonville and University of Florida Health Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Fla.

Ex Officio

Stefano Bertuzzi, Ph.D., MPH


American Society for Microbiology
Washington, D.C.

Jennifer Tomb, CAE, CMP, CEM

Director of Meetings

American Society for Microbiology
Washington, D.C.

Program Committee Members

Antimicrobial Agents and Resistance (AAR)

  • Jacinda Abdul-Mutakabir, Pharm.D., University of California San Diego, San Diego, Calif.* (Track Leader).
  • Ashlan Kunz Coyne, Pharm.D., Wayne State University, Detroit, Mich.* (Vice Track Lead).
  • Alexei Savchenko, University of Calgary.
  • Wes Kim, Ph.D., ASM Global Public Health Programs.
  • Georgina Cox, Ph.D., University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada.
  • Man-Wah Tan, Ph.D., Genentech Research and Early Development, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Jason Bryowsky, Pharm.D, M.S., Shionogi, Inc.
  • Omar El-Halfawy, Ph.D., University of Regina, Regina, Canada.
  • Razi Kebriaei, Ph.D., Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Applied and Environmental Science (AES)

  • Patrick Videau, Ph.D., Southern Oregon University, Ashland, Ore. (Track Leader).
  • Kung-Hui Chu, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas.
  • Erika Espinosa-Ortiz, Ph.D., Montana State University, Bozeman, Mont.*
  • Keri Lydon, Ph.D., University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.
  • Nikki Shariat, Ph.D., University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.
  • Blake Ushijima, Ph.D., University of North Carolina Wilmington, Wilmington, N.C.*

Clinical Infections and Vaccines (CIV)

  • Sanchita Das, M.D., D(ABMM), National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md. (Track Leader).
  • Lisa Stempak, M.D., University Hospitals, Cleveland, Ohio (Vice Track Leader).
  • Derrick Chen, M.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Rachel Denyer, M.D., MRCP, Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Washington, D.C.*
  • Adrian Zelazny, Ph.D., D(ABMM), National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.

Clinical and Public Health Microbiology (CPHM)

  • Jennifer Guthrie, Ph.D., Public Health Ontario, Toronto, Ontario (Track Leader).*
  • David Peaper, M.D., Ph.D., Yale University, New Haven, Conn. (Vice Track Leader).
  • Utsav Pandey, Ph.D., D(ABMM), Kaiser Permanente, Los Angeles, Calif.*
  • Scott Wesley Long, M.D., Ph.D., Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas.
  • Nicholas Moore, Ph.D., D(ABMM), MLS(ASCP), Rush University, Chicago.
  • Sara Blosser, Ph.D., D(ABMM), Centers for Disease Control.
  • Lars Westblade, Ph.D., Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

Ecology, Evolution and Biodiversity (EEB)

Host-Microbe Biology (HMB)

  • Vincent Lee, Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park, Md. (Track Leader).
  • Matthew Lawrenz, Ph.D., University of Louisville, Louisville, Ky. (Vice Track Leader).
  • Kelly Bachta, M.D., Ph.D., Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
  • Mariana Byndloss, D.V.M., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Ryan Hunter, Ph.D., University of Minnesota.
  • Seema Mattoo, Ph.D., Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Molecular Biology and Physiology (MBP) 

Profession of Microbiology (POM)

  • Tatiana Pinto, Ph.D., Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Track Leader).
  • Rebecca Yee, Ph.D., George Washington University, Washington, D.C. (Vice Track Leader).
  • Laura Oliveira, M.D., Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.*
  • John Buchner, Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park, Md.
  • Oscar Tirado Acevedo, Ph.D., Procter & Gamble, Mason, Ohio.

*Member of the ASM Microbe Junior Advisory Group (JAG) 

The Junior Advisory Group’s role is to support and encourage the meeting participation of early career investigators (those about to complete, or within 3 years of completing their training), as well as the formation of early career-related sessions at the meeting.