ASM Recognizes Over a Dozen Microbiologists with Prestigious Awards for Their Work

Sept. 6, 2021

Washington, DC – September 6, 2021 – Today, the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) announced the recipients of its 2022 Awards and Prize Program for outstanding contributions to the microbial sciences. The awards recognize leading scientists and researchers in the field for their contributions to research, education, diversity and professional accomplishments.

ASM’s awards are managed by the American Academy of Microbiology, the honorific leadership group within ASM. Recipients are chosen by a selection committee from among a competitive list of candidates nominated by their peers. 

"We congratulate all of our awardees on this incredible professional success," said ASM CEO Stefano Bertuzzi."Being nominated and receiving an ASM Award is an honor for any microbiologist as the awards help advance the careers of the awardees and their institutions."

The FY 2022 recipients are:  

  • ASM Alice C. Evans Award for Advancement of Women: Gemma Reguera, Ph.D., Michigan State University 

  • ASM Award for Applied and Biotechnological Research: Joseph C. Glorioso, III, Ph.D. , University of Pittsburgh  

  • ASM Award for Basic Research: Donald Bryant, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University  

  • ASM Award for Early Career Applied and Biotechnological Research: Cesar de la Fuente Nunez, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania  

  • ASM Award for Early Career Basic Research: Ankur Dalia, Ph.D. , Indiana University  

  • ASM Award for Early Career Environmental Research: Karthik Anantharaman, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin Madison  

  • ASM Award for Education: Heidi Goodrich-Blair, Ph.D., The University of Tennessee Knoxville  

  • ASM Award for Environmental Research: Mary Firestone, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley  

  • ASM Award for Research and Leadership in Clinical Microbiology: Romney Humphries, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center  

  • ASM Award for Service: Yvette S. McCarter, Ph.D., UF Health Jacksonville  

  • ASM Carski Award for Undergraduate Education: Nancy Boury, Ph.D., Iowa State University  

  • ASM D.C. White Award for Interdisciplinary Research: Victor Nizet, M.D., University of California San Diego    

  • ASM Lifetime Achievement Award: John Mekalanos, Ph.D., Harvard University Medical School  

  • ASM Microbiome Data Prize: Patrick D. Schloss, Ph.D., University of Michigan  

  • ASM Moselio Schaechter Award in Recognition of a Developing-Country Microbiologist: Arunaloke Chakrabarti, M.D., Dip NB, FAMS, FNASc, FIDSA, FECMM, Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education & Research  

  • ASM Scherago-Rubin Award for Clinical Microbiology: Joy Graff, M.S., St. Elizabeth Healthcare, Preferred Laboratory Partners (PLP)  

  • ASM William A. Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists: Michael Johnson, Ph.D., University of Arizona  

To learn more about ASM awards and view past recipients, visit the Awards and Prize Program page. The 2022 ASM Awards & Prize Program is sponsored by the ASM Corporate Council and the Berkeley Lab.


ASM is dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 30,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences. ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications, educational opportunities and advocacy efforts. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences.

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.