ASM Selects Honorees for 2023 Awards & Prize Program

Sept. 6, 2022

Washington, D.C. – The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) announced the recipients of its 2023 Awards and Prize for outstanding contributions to the microbial sciences. The awards recognize leading scientists and researchers in the field for their professional accomplishments and contributions to research, education, clinical laboratories, service and scientific diversity.

The American Academy of Microbiology, the honorific leadership group within ASM, manages a slate of awards and prizes that recognize outstanding science at every career level and in every sub-discipline of the microbial sciences. Recipients are chosen by a selection committee from among a competitive list of candidates nominated by their peers. 

"The ASM Awards and Prize Program recognizes exceptional microbiologists who have made significant contributions to advance the field and the microbial sciences community,” said ASM CEO Stefano Bertuzzi. "There is no better way to show gratitude to a mentor, respect to a colleague or support for an early career scientist than by nominating them and acknowledging their outstanding contributions.”

The 2023 recipients are:

  • ASM Lifetime Achievement Award:  James M. Tiedje, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • ASM Award for Applied and Biotechnological Research: Kim Lewis, Ph.D., Northeastern University. 
  • ASM Award for Basic Research: Eugene V. Koonin, Ph.D., National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. 
  • ASM Award for Early Career Applied and Biotechnological Research: James T. Morton, Ph.D., Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institutes of Health.
  • ASM Award for Early Career Basic Research: Jeremy Michael Rock, Ph.D., The Rockefeller University.
  • ASM Award for Early Career Environmental Research: Maria Eugenia Inda, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 
  • ASM Award for Environmental Research: John D. Coates, Ph.D., Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley.
  • ASM Award for Research or Leadership in Clinical Microbiology: Charles Y. Chiu, M.D., Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco.
  • ASM Scherago-Rubin Award for Clinical Microbiology: James Pusavat, BSMT, MT(ASCP), CLS(NCA), SM(ASCP), Adventist Health Bakersfield.
  • ASM D.C. White Award for Interdisciplinary Research: James J. Collins, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Harvard University and Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard.
  • ASM Carski Award for Undergraduate Education: Amy M. Siegesmund, Ph.D., Pacific Lutheran University.
  • ASM Award for Graduate Education: Ronald W. Griffith, D.V.M., M.S., Ph.D., DACVM, Iowa State University.
  • ASM Microbiome Data Prize: Benjamin Callahan, Ph.D., North Carolina State University.
  • ASM Moselio Schaechter Award in Recognition of a Developing-Country Microbiologist: Shahida Hasnain, Ph.D., University of the Punjab.
  • ASM William A. Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists: Kishana Y. Taylor, Ph.D., Rutgers University-Newark and Ariangela J. Kozik, Ph.D., University of Michigan Medical School (These co-recipients are co-Founders of the Black Microbiologists Association and will share this award).
  • ASM Alice C. Evans Award for Advancement of Women: Lorraine A. Findlay, Ph.D., Nassau Community College/University Medical Center, S.U.N.Y. 
  • ASM Award for Service: Robert C. Jerris, Ph.D. D(ABMM), Children's Healthcare of Atlanta.
  • ASM Honorary Diversity Lecturer Award: Irene Newton, Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington.
  • ASM Elizabeth O. King Lecturer Award: Martin Wiedmann, Dr. Med. Vet., Ph.D., Cornell University.

To learn more about ASM awards and view past recipients, visit the Awards and Prize Program page.  The 2023 ASM Awards & Prize Program is sponsored by the ASM Corporate Council. The 2023 Microbiome Data Prize is supported by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. The Elizabeth O. King Lecturer Award is supported by the New York Community Trust-Audrey Rheinstrom and Anne Blevins Fund. 


The American Society for Microbiology is one of the largest professional societies dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 30,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences.

ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications, educational opportunities and advocacy efforts. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences.

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.