65 Fellows Elected into the American Academy of Microbiology

Feb. 15, 2022

Washington, DC – February 15, 2022 – In February, the American Academy of Microbiology (Academy) elected 65 new Fellows to the Class of 2022. Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, an honorific leadership group and a think tank within the ASM, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. The Academy received 130 nominations this year and elected 65 into the 2022 Fellowship Class.

There are over 2,600 Fellows in the Academy representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. In addition, Fellows hail from all around the globe. The Class of 2022 is a diverse class and represents Fellows from 10 different countries, including Australia, Canada, China (Mainland), Germany, Israel, Japan, Portugal, Switzerland, the U.K. and the U.S.

The 2022 Academy Fellows are:

· Nihal Altan-Bonnet, Ph.D., National Institutes of Health

· Timothy Anderson, Ph.D., Texas Biomedical Research Institute

· Elliot Androphy, M.D., Indiana University School of Medicine

· Kathryn Bernard, M.Sc., KA Bernard Consultancy in Bacteriology and Public Health

· Melanie Blokesch, Ph.D., École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

· Manuel Borca, Ph.D., Plum Island Animal Disease Center, United States Department of Agriculture Agricultural Research Service

· Alison Buchan, Ph.D., University of Tennessee-Knoxville

· Carol Carter, Ph.D., Stony Brook University

· Vaughn Cooper, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

· Shane Crotty, Ph.D., La Jolla Institute for Immunology

· Liwang Cui, Ph.D., University of South Florida

· Michael Daly, Ph.D., Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

· Satya Dandekar, Ph.D., University of California Davis

· Véronique Dartois, Ph.D., Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine and Center for Discovery and Innovation, Hackensack Meridian Health

· Kristen DeAngelis, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst

· Eric Denkers, Ph.D., University of New Mexico

· Simon Dove, Ph.D., Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School Teaching Hospital

· Rebecca Dutch, Ph.D., University of Kentucky College of Medicine

· Garth Ehrlich, Ph.D., FAAAS, Drexel University College of Medicine

· Eran Elinav, M.D., Ph.D., Weizman Institute of Science

· Paul Fey, Ph.D., D(ABMM), University of Nebraska Medical Center

· Kurt Fredrick, Ph.D., The Ohio State University

· Lee Gehrke, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School

· Andrew Goodman, Ph.D., Yale School of Medicine

· Jeffrey Gralnick, Ph.D., University of Minnesota

· Haitao Guo, Ph.D., UPMC Hillman Cancer Center, University of Pittsburgh

· Steven Hahn, Ph.D., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

· Yiping Han, Ph.D., Columbia University

· Colleen Hansel, Ph.D., Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

· Valerie Harwood, Ph.D., University of South Florida

· Jay Hinton, Ph.D., M.A., B.Sc., University of Liverpool

· Li Huang, Ph.D., Institutes of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)

· Romney Humphries, Ph.D., D(ABMM), M(ASCP), Vanderbilt University Medical Center

· Yoshizumi Ishino, Ph.D., Kyushu University

· Aravind L. Iyer, Ph.D., National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health

· Anthony James, Ph.D., University of California Irvine

· Andreas Kappler, Dr. rer. nat., University of Tübingen

· Richard Lamont, Ph.D., University of Louisville

· Susan Lea, D.Phil, F.Med.Sci., National Institutes of Health

· Carolina Lopez, Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis

· Hongzhou Lu, M.D., Ph.D., Shanghai Public Health Clinical Center, Fudan University

· Linda Mansfield, V.M.D., Ph.D., Michigan State University

· Richard Marconi, Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

· Donald Morrison, Ph.D., University of Illinois Chicago

· Oladele Ogunseitan, Ph.D., MPH, University of California Irvine

· Mary O’Riordan, Ph.D., The University of Michigan Medical School

· Michelle Ozbun, Ph.D., The University of New Mexico of Medicine

· Marcela Pasetti, Ph.D., University of Maryland School of Medicine

· Margaret Phillips, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

· Barbara Rehermann, M.D., National Institutes of Health

· Jorge Santo Domingo, Ph.D., United States Environmental Protection Agency

· Beate Schwer, Ph.D., Weill Cornell Medical College

· Rangaraj Selvarangan, Ph.D., D(ABMM), Children’s Mercy Kansas City

· Jeremy Semrau, Ph.D., The University of Michigan

· Yuelong Shu, Ph.D., School of Public Health (Shenzhen), Sun Yat-sen University

· Kirsten St. George, Ph.D., Wadsworth Center, New York State Department of Health

· Christina Stallings, Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine

· Benjamin tenOever, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

· Ana Traven, Ph.D., Monash University

· Michael VanNieuwenhze, Ph.D., Indiana University Bloomington

· Christopher Waters, Ph.D., Michigan State University

· Karina Xavier, Ph.D., M.Sc., B.Sc., Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian / Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência (IGC)

· Feng Zhang, Ph.D., Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, the McGovern Institute for Brain Research, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute

· Guoping Zhao, Ph.D., Institute of Plant Physiology and Ecology, Shanghai Institutes for Biological Sciences

· Jun Zhu, Ph.D., Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

The American Society for Microbiology is one of the largest professional societies dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 30,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences.
ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications and educational opportunities. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences. 

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.