ASM Announces 2023-2024 ASM Distinguished Lecturer Roster

July 19, 2023

Washington, D.C. – The American Society for Microbiology has announced the ASM Distinguished Lecturer (ASMDL) Roster for 2023-2024. ASM congratulates all the new and returning lecturers. The ASMDL Program annually selects a scientifically diverse group of lecturers who are available to speak at local ASM Branch meetings throughout the U.S. Lecturers are chosen through a competitive nomination process and only the most distinguished lecturers and researchers are chosen to participate in the program.

The ASMDL Roster includes 2 Waksman Foundation Lecturers, supported through funding from the Waksman Foundation for Microbiology, with research topics primarily focused on antibiotics, translational research and/or environmental microbiology.

Since its founding over 55 years ago, the ASMDL program has been a mainstay of branch programming, and has enhanced the scientific content available at the local level. The program reaches thousands of microbiologists, including students, every year and extends the reach and impact of ASM throughout the U.S.

2023-2024 ASM Distinguished Lecturer Roster:
  • Jason Bartz, Ph.D. (Creighton University School of Medicine, Omaha, Neb.).
  • Miriam Braunstein, Ph.D. (University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill, N.C.).
  • Sean Crosson, Ph.D. (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.).
  • Kristen DeAngelis, Ph.D., Waksman Foundation Lecturer (University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Mass.).
  • Garth D. Ehrlich, Ph.D. (Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, Pa.) 
  • Joanne Engel, MD, Ph.D. (University of California San Francisco)
  • Igor Jouline, Ph.D. (Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio).
  • Jennifer A. Leeds, Ph.D., Waksman Foundation Lecturer (Novartis, Emeryville, Calif.)
  • Carolina López, Ph.D. (Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Mo.).
  • Karen Maxwell, Ph.D. (University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada).
  • Brian T. Murphy, Ph.D. (University of Illinois Chicago).
  • Federico Rey, Ph.D. (University of Wisconsin-Madison).
  • Amariliz Rivera, Ph.D. (Rutgers University, New Jersey Medical School, Newark, N.J.). 
  • Nasia Safdar, MD, Ph.D. (University of Wisconsin-Madison).
  • Wun-Ju Shieh, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., Dr.PH (h.c.) (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Ga. — retired).
  • Steven W. Wilhelm, Ph.D. (University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tenn.).
  • Brenda Anne Wilson, Ph.D. (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Ill.).
  • Andrew D. Yurochko, Ph.D. (LSU Health Sciences Center – Shreveport, Shreveport, La.).

The American Society for Microbiology is one of the largest professional societies dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 30,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences. 

ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications, educational opportunities and advocacy efforts. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences. 

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.