ASM Selects Honorees for 2024 Awards and Prize Program

Sept. 8, 2023

Washington, D.C. – The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) announced the recipients of its 2024 Awards and Prize Program. The awards recognize leading scientists and researchers in the field for their professional accomplishments and contributions to research, education, clinical laboratories, service and scientific diversity.

The American Academy of Microbiology, the honorific leadership group and scientific think tank within ASM, manages a slate of awards and prizes that highlight excellent science at every career level and subdiscipline of the microbial sciences. Recipients are chosen by a selection committee from among a competitive list of candidates nominated by their peers. 

“The ASM Awards and Prize Program applauds outstanding microbiologists who have contributed significantly to advancing the microbial sciences,” said ASM CEO Stefano Bertuzzi. “Nominating a mentor or colleague to be recognized for their exceptional work is a great way to thank them for their efforts.” 

The 2024 recipients are:
  • ASM Lifetime Achievement Award: Rita R. Colwell, Ph.D., University of Maryland College Park.
  • ASM Award for Applied and Biotechnological Research: James Crowe, M.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center.
  • ASM Award for Basic Research: Christine Jacobs-Wagner, Ph.D., Stanford University. 
  • ASM Award for Early Career Applied and Biotechnological Research: Nathan Grubaugh, Ph.D., Yale School of Public Health.
  • ASM Award for Early Career Basic Research: Aaron Whiteley, Ph.D., University of Colorado -Boulder.
  • ASM Award for Environmental Research: Nicole Dubilier, Ph.D., Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology.
  • ASM Award for Early Career Clinical Microbiology Research: Alexander Greninger, M.D., Ph.D., University of Washington.
  • ASM Award for Research or Leadership in Clinical Microbiology: Bobbi Pritt, M.D., Mayo Clinic.
  • ASM Scherago-Rubin Award for Clinical Microbiology: David Lonsway, M. Med. Sc., Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
  • ASM D.C. White Award for Interdisciplinary Research: Gemma Reguera, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • ASM Carski Award for Undergraduate Education: Lee Hughes, Ph.D., University of North Texas.
  • ASM Microbiome Data Prize: Ami Bhatt, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford University.
  • ASM Moselio Schaechter Award in Recognition of a Developing-Country Microbiologist: Iruka Okeke, Ph.D., University of Ibadan.
  • ASM William A. Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists: Jesus Romo, Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio.
  • ASM Alice C. Evans Award for Advancement of Women: Shannon Manning, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • ASM Award for Service: Audrey Schuetz, M.D., Mayo Clinic.
  • ASM Honorary Diversity Lecturer Award: Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.
  • ASM Elizabeth O. King Lecturer Award: Fang Li, Ph.D., University of Minnesota.

Learn more about ASM awards and view past recipients on the Awards and Prize Program page. The 2024 ASM Awards & Prize Program is sponsored by the ASM Corporate Council. The 2024 Microbiome Data Prize is supported by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. The Elizabeth O. King Lecturer Award is supported by the New York Community Trust-Audrey Rheinstrom and Anne Blevins Fund.

The American Society for Microbiology is one of the largest professional societies dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 30,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences. 

ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications, educational opportunities and advocacy efforts. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences. 

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.