65 Fellows Elected into American Academy of Microbiology

Feb. 15, 2024

Washington, D.C.—In Feb., the American Academy of Microbiology (Academy) elected 65 new fellows to the Class of 2024. Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. The Academy received 156 nominations for fellowship this year. There are over 2,600 fellows in the Academy representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and who are involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry and government service.

The Academy and ASM are committed and taking intentional steps to embrace inclusive diversity with equity, access and accountability (IDEAA). Among the Class of 2024 fellows, 25% are women and 23% of the 2024 fellows in the U.S. are from historically underrepresented ethnic groups. Fellows in the Class of 2024 represent 7 different countries, including France, Germany, Hong Kong (Greater China), South Africa, Spain, the U.K. and the U.S.

The 2024 Academy Fellows are:
  • Steven Allison, Ph.D., University of California, Irvine.
  • Janelle Ayres, Ph.D., Salk Institute for Biological Studies.
  • Brett Baker, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin.
  • Daniel Barber, Ph.D., National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), National Institutes of Health (NIH).
  • Sonja Best, Ph.D., National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), National Institutes of Health (NIH).
  • Catherine Blish, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford University School of Medicine.
  • Ronald Breaker, Ph.D., Yale University.
  • Igor Brodsky, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine.
  • Barbara Brown-Elliott, M.S., MT(ASCP)SM, The University of Texas at Tyler Health Science Center.
  • Ken Cadwell, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.
  • Sheng Chen, Ph.D., The Hong Kong Polytechnic University.
  • Ankur Dalia, Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington.
  • Aravinda de Silva, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine.
  • Kirk Deitsch, Ph.D., Weill Cornell Medicine.
  • Jennifer Dien Bard, Ph.D., D(ABMM), University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine and Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.
  • Ashlee Earl, Ph.D., Broad Institute of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Harvard.
  • Mohamed El-Naggar, Ph.D., University of Southern California.
  • Robert Ernst, Ph.D., University of Maryland School of Dentistry.
  • Betsy Foxman, Ph.D., MSPH, University of Michigan.
  • Scott Franzblau, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Chicago.
  • Toni Gabaldón, Ph.D., Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona.
  • Michaela Gack, Ph.D., Cleveland Clinic Florida Research and Innovation Center.
  • Zemer Gitai, Ph.D., Princeton University.
  • Nelesh Govender, M.D., National Institute for Communicable Diseases.
  • Grant Jensen, Ph.D., Brigham Young University.
  • Paul Jensen, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego.
  • James Kirby, M.D., D(ABMM), Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. 
  • Mart Krupovic, Ph.D., Institut Pasteur.
  • Kirsten Küsel, Ph.D., Friedrich Schiller University Jena.
  • Jianrong Li, DVM, Ph.D., The Ohio State University.
  • Anice Lowen, Ph.D., Emory University School of Medicine.
  • Luis Martinez-Sobrido, Ph.D., Texas Biomedical Research Institute.
  • Jay Mellies, Ph.D., Reed College.
  • Douglas Mitchell, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.
  • Michelle Momany, Ph.D., University of Georgia.
  • W. Scott Moye-Rowley, Ph.D., University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine.
  • Julian Naglik, Ph.D., King’s College London.
  • Guy Palmer, DVM, Ph.D., Washington State University.
  • Joseph Peters, Ph.D., Cornell University.
  • Chad Rappleye, Ph.D., The Ohio State University.
  • Kyu Rhee, M.D., Ph.D., Weill Cornell Medicine.
  • Kendra Rumbaugh, Ph.D., Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.
  • Alyson Santoro, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara.
  • Abhay Satoskar, M.D., Ph.D., The Ohio State University.
  • Karin Sauer, Ph.D., Binghamton University.
  • Joshua Schimel, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara.
  • John Schoggins, Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.
  • Jon Skare, Ph.D., Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Medicine.
  • David Sullivan, M.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.
  • Christoph Tang, Ph.D., University of Oxford.
  • Elitza Theel, Ph.D., D(ABMM), Mayo Clinic.
  • David Tobin, Ph.D., Duke University School of Medicine.
  • Toshio Tsukiyama, DVM, Ph.D., Fred Hutchison Cancer Center.
  • Athanasios Typas, Ph.D., European Molecular Biology Laboratory.
  • Eric Webb, Ph.D., University of Southern California.
  • David Weiss, Ph.D., Emory University School of Medicine.
  • Matthew Weitzman, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.
  • Wade Winkler, Ph.D., University of Maryland.
  • André-Denis Wright, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma.
  • Hao Wu, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital.
  • Li Wu, Ph.D., University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine.
  • Jianhua Yu, Ph.D., City of Hope National Medical Center and Beckman Research Institute.
  • Helen Zgurskaya, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma.
  • Pei Zhou, Ph.D., Duke University School of Medicine.
  • Z. Hong Zhou, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles.

The American Society for Microbiology is one of the largest professional societies dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 36,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences.

ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications, educational opportunities and advocacy efforts. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences.

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.