New Leadership Elected to the Board of Governors of the American Academy of Microbiology

Oct. 11, 2018

Washington, DC – October 11, 2018 – Four new Governors have been elected to the American Academy of Microbiology’s Board of Governors. Gail Cassell, Lynn Enquist, Mary Estes, and Carey-Ann Burnham will join the Board of Governors for their three-year terms, effective immediately. The ASM and the American Academy of Microbiology (Academy) are excited to welcome this new leadership and look forward to serving the mission of the Academy with them.

The American Academy of Microbiology is the honorific leadership group within the ASM. The mission of the Academy is to recognize scientists for outstanding contributions to microbiology and provide microbiological expertise in the service of science and the public. The Board of Governors sets the strategic direction for Academy programs, approves all new awards recommended by the Committee on Awards, establishes new programs consistent with the Academy’s mission and strategic plan, develops the slate of candidates for the Committee on Elections, among other leadership functions.

BOV CassellGail Cassell is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School. She is also a Senior Scientist in the Division of Global Health Equity at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Executive VP TB Drug Development at the Infectious Disease Research Institute. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and a past president of the American Society for Microbiology.


enquist lynn 0Lynn Enquist is the Henry l. Hillman Professor of Molecular Biology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute, Princeton University. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS). He is a past president of the American Society for Virology and the American Society for Microbiology.


758498Mary Estes is the Distinguished Service Professor in the Departments of Molecular Virology and Microbiology and Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and she is on the Board of Editors of mBio. She is a past president of the American Society for Virology.



BurnhamCarey Ann 1 145x200Carey-Ann Burnham is a professor in the Department of Pathology & Immunology, Washington University in St. Louis and Medical Director of Clinical Microbiology of Barnes-Jewish Hospital. She is an editor of ASM’s Journal of Clinical Microbiology, a member of the ASM Clinical and Public Health Microbiology Committee, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology.



The American Society for Microbiology is the largest single life science society, composed of more than 30,000 scientists and health professionals. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences.

ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications and educational opportunities. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences.

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
ASM Communications staff.