About the Award

Illustration of the ASM Award wreath.

The ASM Moselio Schaechter Award in Recognition of a Developing-Country Microbiologist, named in honor of Professor Moselio Schaechter, former ASM President, recognizes a scientist who has shown exemplary leadership and commitment toward the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in the developing world.

2024 ASM Moselio Schaechter Awardee

Iruka N. Okeke, Ph.D.

Iruka N. Okeke, Ph.D.

University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Past Awardees
2023: Shahida Hasnain
2022: Arunaloke Chakrabarti
2021: Gustavo Goldman
2020: Armen Trchounian
2019: Ritu Amatya.
2018: no award given
2017: no award given
2016: Rup Lal
2015: Diego de Mendoza
2014: Yogendra Singh
2013: Nancy Saravia
2012: Jayaraman Gowrishankar
2011: Sunday Ayodele Odunfa
2010: Firdausi Qadri


Nominees must have displayed exemplary leadership and commitment toward the substantial furthering of the profession of microbiology in research, education or technology in upper-middle, lower-middle or low-income countries as determined by the World Bank's classification. For example, eligible candidates might include microbiologists who have been instrumental in setting up properly functioning clinical microbiology laboratories or successful biotechnology services based on microbiology; academicians who have developed high-quality undergraduate or graduate training programs; and/or researchers who have demonstrated leadership in the context of their regions.

Nominees must be national or permanent residents of a qualifying country and have or have had full-time professional appointments in the microbiological sciences or a related field for at least 10 years in a country or region of the developing world. Nominees must be active ASM members at the time of nomination. Nominees may not be serving on the ASM Board of Directors at the time of nomination.

Nominators must address how the nominees meet the criteria and how they have made significant contributions to advance microbial sciences in their region.

Nominations Must Include:

  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account or log in to their current ASM account to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to provide a current CV or enter highlights from their CV on a CV template. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee’s current CV.
  3. Nominee Statement. Nominees will be asked to provide a nominee statement describing their most significant contributions to the field of microbial sciences, explaining how their contributions meet the criteria for the award and why they are deserving of the award.

Awardee Benefits

The Award Laureate will receive the following honors:

  • One time waiver to publish an article without charge in 1 of ASM Journals.
  • A cash prize of $1,400.
  • Personalized commemorative keepsake.
  • Be invited to speak at the next ASM Microbe meeting.
  • Be recognized at the next ASM Microbe meeting and be invited as honored guests at the ASM and American Academy of Microbiology leadership receptions.

Frequently Asked Questions

For answers to the most frequently asked questions about ASM awards, see the Awards and Prize FAQs page.

Award Selection Process

All eligible nominations will be reviewed by the respective award selection committee. The committee members will use the nomination materials to evaluate each nominee using the described eligibility criteria. The committee will discuss outstanding candidates and determine the awardee for that year. The committee takes into consideration various factors about the nominees in the decision to ensure the selected awardee is a strong example of excellence in the field.

Selection Committee Members

  • Heidi Goodrich-Blair, Ph.D. (Chair).
  • Annaliesa Anderson, Ph.D.
  • Paul Fidel, Ph.D.
  • Gustavo Goldman, Ph.D.
  • John W. Peters, Ph.D.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and might not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.