About the Award

Illustration of the ASM Award wreath and profile picture of William Hinton.

The ASM William A. Hinton Award for Advancement of a Diverse Community of Microbiologists recognizes outstanding contributions and service toward fostering the research training of minorities and increasing diversity in microbiology. It is given in memory of William A. Hinton, a physician-research scientist, and one of the first Black scientists to join ASM. He developed the Hinton test for syphilis, which became the standard procedure due to its ease of use, cost-effectiveness and accuracy compared to earlier tests.

2024 ASM William A. Hinton Awardee

Jesús Antonio Romo, Ph.D.

Jesús Antonio Romo, Ph.D.

The University of Texas at San Antonio

Past Awardees
2023: Kishana Taylor and Ariangela Kozik
2022: Michael D. L. Johnson
2021: Eric Triplett
2020: Gladys Alexandre
2019: Marian Johnson-Thompson
2018: Peter Lipke
2017: Steven Finkel
2016: Hong Qin
2015: Liise-anne Pirofski
2014: Maria F. Lima
2013: Alison Gammie
2012: LaJoyce H. Debro
2011: Agnes A. Day
2010: Renato Aguilera
2009: Terry Ann Krulwich
2008: Arturo Casadevall
2007: Carolyn B. Brooks
2006: Sally B. Jorgensen
2005: Willie Turner
2004: John F. Alderete
2003: Henry N. Williams
2002: Michael F. Summers
2001: Helen Buckley
2000: Julius H. Jackson
1999: Thoyd Melton
1998: Luther S. Williams


Nominees must contribute to the research training of undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows or health professional students, and must contribute to efforts leading to the increased participation of microbiologists from historically underrepresented communities.

Nominators must address how the nominees meet the criteria and how they have made significant contributions to advance the involvement of microbiologists from historically underrepresented communities in research.

Nominations Must Include:

  1. Nomination Form. Nominator will need to create a free ASM account, or log in to their current ASM account, to complete the nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted (in other words, you cannot nominate yourself for the award).
  2. Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the nominee is required to complete the nomination. After the nomination form is submitted by the nominator, the nominee will be contacted by ASM and asked to provide a current CV or enter highlights from their CV on a CV template. Completing the CV template is highly recommended; however, the selection committee will accept either the template or the nominee’s current CV.
  3. Nominee Statement. Nominees will be asked to provide a nominee statement describing their most significant contributions to the field of microbial sciences, explaining how their contributions meet the criteria for the award and why they are deserving of the award.

Awardee Benefits

The Award Laureate will receive the following honors:

  • One time waiver to publish an article without charge in 1 of ASM Journals.
  • A cash prize of $1,400.
  • Personalized commemorative keepsake.
  • Be invited to speak at the next ASM Microbe meeting.
  • Be recognized at the next ASM Microbe meeting and be invited as honored guests at the ASM and American Academy of Microbiology leadership receptions.

Frequently Asked Questions

For answers to the most frequently asked questions about ASM awards, see the Awards and Prize FAQs page.

Award Selection Process

All eligible nominations will be reviewed by the respective award selection committee. The committee members will use the nomination materials to evaluate each nominee using the described eligibility criteria. The committee will discuss outstanding candidates and determine the awardee for that year. The committee takes into consideration various factors about the nominees in the decision to ensure the selected awardee is a strong example of excellence in the field.

Selection Committee Members

  • Heidi Goodrich-Blair, Ph.D. (Chair).
  • Annaliesa Anderson, Ph.D.
  • Paul Fidel, Ph.D.
  • Gustavo Goldman, Ph.D.
  • John W. Peters, Ph.D.

ASM awards are granted at the discretion of award selection committees and might not be awarded every year.

Questions? Contact awards@asmusa.org.