65 Fellows Elected into the American Academy of Microbiology

Feb. 15, 2023

Washington, D.C. – February 15, 2023 – In February, the American Academy of Microbiology (Academy) elected 65 new fellows to the Class of 2023. Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, an honorific leadership group and a think tank within the ASM, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. The Academy received 148 nominations this year and elected 65 into the 2023 Fellowship Class. There are over 2,600 Fellows in the Academy representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry and government service.

The Academy and ASM are committed and taking intentional steps to embrace inclusive diversity with equity, access and accountability (IDEAA). The Academy invited the nominees to share their demographic information and achieved an 88% participation rate. Among the Class of 2023 fellows, 34% are women. Among the 2023 fellows in the U.S., 35% are from historically underrepresented ethnic groups. In addition, fellows hail from all around the globe. The Class of 2023 represents fellows from 11 different countries, including Argentina, Australia, Canada, China (Mainland), France, Germany, India, Israel, Singapore, the U.K. and the U.S.

The 2023 Academy Fellows are:
  • Sonja-Verena Albers, Ph.D., University of Freiburg  

  • Helene Andrews-Polymenis, DVM, Ph.D., Texas A&M University  

  • José Antonio Bengoechea, Ph.D., Queen’s University Belfast  

  • Avery August, Ph.D., Cornell University  

  • Niaz Banaei, M.D., Stanford University School of Medicine  

  • Jennifer Biddle, Ph.D., University of Delaware, School of Marine Science and Policy  

  • Elaine Bignell, Ph.D., University of Exeter 

  • Joel Blankson, Ph.D., M.D., Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine  

  • Clare Bryant, Ph.D., The University of Cambridge  

  • Isaac Cann, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign  

  • Mariana Castanheira, Ph.D., JMI Laboratories  

  • Matthew Chapman, Ph.D., University of Michigan Ann Arbor  

  • David Charles Johnson, Ph.D., Oregon Health & Science University  

  • Lydia Contreras, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin  

  • Brian Coombes, Ph.D., McMaster University  

  • Francisco Diez-Gonzalez, Ph.D., University of Georgia  

  • Stephen Diggle, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology  

  • Kelly Doran, Ph.D., University of Colorado, Anschutz School of Medicine  

  • Daniel Douek, M.D., Ph.D., National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases/Vaccine Research Center  

  • Edward Dudley, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University  

  • Paul Dunman, Ph.D., University of Rochester  

  • David Fidock, Ph.D., Columbia University  

  • Arthur Friedlander, M.D., U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases  

  • Peter Girguis, Ph.D., Harvard University  

  • Amy Gladfelter, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill  

  • J. Marie Hardwick, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health  

  • Alexander Horswill, Ph.D., University of Colorado, Anschutz School of Medicine  

  • Sun Hur, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School & Boston Children’s Hospital  

  • Guilhem Janbon, Ph.D., Institut Pasteur  

  • James Keck, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison  

  • Tomas Kirchhausen, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital  

  • Laura Knoll, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison  

  • Florian Krammer, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai  

  • Rup Lal, Ph.D., The Energy and Resources Institute  

  • David Levy, Ph.D., NYU Grossman School of Medicine  

  • Sheila Lukehart, Ph.D., University of Washington  

  • Anna Malkova, Ph.D., University of Iowa  

  • Shannon D. Manning, Ph.D., MPH, Michigan State University 

  • Victoria McGovern, Ph.D., Burroughs Wellcome Fund  

  • Elizabeth McGraw, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University  

  • Joan Mecsas, Ph.D., Tufts University  

  • Makedonka Mitreva, Ph.D., Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis 

  • Itzhak Mizrahi, Ph.D., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev   

  • Volker Müller, Ph. D. (Dr. rer. nat.), Goethe University Frankfurt  

  • Indira Mysorekar, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine  

  • Irene Newton, Ph.D., Indiana University at Bloomington  

  • Gustavo Palacios, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai  

  • Alexander Ploss, Ph.D., Princeton University  

  • Michael Pucci, Ph.D., Antimicrobial Development Specialists, LLC  

  • Eduardo P C Rocha, Ph.D., Institut Pasteur  

  • P. David Rogers, Pharm.D., Ph.D., St. Jude Children's Research Hospital  

  • Thomas Rudel, Ph.D., Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg  

  • David Russell, Ph.D., Cornell University  

  • Alessandro Sette, Ph.D., La Jolla Institute of Immunology  

  • Sunny Shin, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine  

  • Lisa Y Stein, Ph.D., University of Alberta  

  • Rita Tamayo, Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill  

  • Peter Turnbaugh, Ph.D., University of California San Francisco  

  • Gene Tyson, Ph.D., The Queensland University of Technology  

  • Alejandro J. Vila, Ph.D., Instituto de Biología Molecular y Celular de Rosario  

  • Jatin Vyas, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School  

  • Yue Wang, Ph.D., A*STAR Infectious Diseases Labs (ID Labs), Agency for Science Technology, and Research, Singapore  

  • Kelly Wrighton, Ph.D., Colorado State University  

  • George Yap, Ph.D., Rutgers University  

  • Zheng-Hong Yuan, Ph.D., Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University 


The American Society for Microbiology is one of the largest professional societies dedicated to the life sciences and is composed of 30,000 scientists and health practitioners. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences.

ASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications and educational opportunities. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences. 

Author: ASM Communications

ASM Communications
Get the latest research and study results, learn about new techniques and more, as curated by the ASM Communications staff.